Quiet Time with God

Calvary BC, Pollworkers 012

Calvary Baptist Church and Senior Pastor William Rice continued with the sermon series, “What Now? What To Do When Your World Falls Apart?” based on the Book of Job.  Today’s message was titled “Questions for God.”

Pastor Rice looked at Job’s questions to God and questions we might ask God when experiencing tragedy, turmoil, change and suffering.

“I would state my case before him and fill my mouth with arguments. I would find out what he (God) would answer me, and consider what he would say to me.” – Job 23:4-5

Job, a blameless, sinless, good man who believed in God, lost his wealth, property, family and health in one day.  Read Job 1.  In Job 2 and the following chapters, Job expressed his anger and feelings that what happened to him is unfair, unjust.

Job asked God these questions:

1.  Why?  Why is this happening to me?

“If I have sinned, what have I done to you, (God), you who sees everything we do? Why have you made me your target? Have I become a burden to you?” – Job 7:20

“God is not the author of evil. However, God does permit and limit tragedy,” said Pastor Rice on Christian theology.

2. Where?   Where is God when I need Him?

“Why do you hide your face and consider me your enemy?” – Job 13:24

3. When?  When is this problem, suffering going to end?

Job wanted to see God face to face to ask his questions.

“Oh, that I might have my request, that God would grant what I hope for, that God would be willing to crush me, to let loose his hand and cut off my life.” –Job 6:8-9

Job prayed God would kill him to end his misery, but was not suicidal, Pastor Rice explained.

“Suicide is selfish and hurts the people you leave behind.  Give God the chance to finish the story of your life.  Hang on to let God work things out for you. Do not give up (on yourself)”  Pastor Rice advised to anyone contemplating suicide.

Job’s Conclusions:

1. Express your grief.   Jesus wept when his friend Lazarus died.

2. Ask God your questions, the hard ones, too.

3. Trust in the Lord.  Read Job 28.  At the end this chapter, Job finds out what wisdom is.

Pastor Rice compared our lives to a small piece in a jig saw puzzle.

“Start with what you know.” Pastor Rice said.  Then find the puzzle pieces with corners and sides to build the frame of the jig saw puzzle. From there, everything is trial and error until all the pieces to fit and come together like the picture in a jig saw puzzle, Pastor Rice explained.

As human beings, we do not know everything and don’t always understand our circumstances during challenging times. However, we can put our trust in the Lord and in a living god, Pastor Rice said.

We invite you to worship at Calvary Baptist Church, 110 N. McMullen Booth Road, Clearwater, Florida.  If you can’t attend Sunday mornings, tune in on Sunday mornings and watch the services online.  For more information and the weekly devotion guide, go to http://www.calvary.us/DevotionGuide

—Carol Lim

 

 

This entry was posted in Bible Readings & Devotions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

