Election Tuesday Results – Harris County

Houston and Harris County went blue on Election Day, November 6th with a majority of voters going Straight Democratic Party on races. The Harris County Election Division reported 1,209,358 of 2,307,654 registered voters or 52.41% voted in the Mid-Term Election for federal, state, county, judges offices and 2 propositions.

Democratic Party challengers won numerous county and judges races and unseated incumbent Republicans in Harris County on November 6th.

Here are the Harris County Unofficial General and Special Elections results for the November 6, 2018 Election with 100% (1,012 precincts) reporting:


Below are some highlights of who won and lost in Harris County:

In Harris County, 55.24% voted Straight Democratic Party ticket.  44.12% voted Straight Republican Party ticket.

Democratic Congressman Beto O’Rourke received 692,861  (57.86%) of the vote in Harris County in the United States Senator race.  Republican incumbent Senator Ted Cruz got 495,951  (41.42%) of the vote in the Houston area.

Democrat Lizzie Pannill Fletcher received 126,168 (52.35%) of the vote in Harris County. Republican incumbent Congressman John Culberson, District 7 received 114,859 (47.65%) votes in the Houston area.

In the United States Representative District 2 race,  Republican Dan Crenshaw received 138,502 (53.01%) of the vote in the Houston area. Democrat Todd Litton received 118,570 (45.38%) of the votes in Harris County.

In the Texas Governor Race, Democrat Lupe Valdez received 622,932 (52.03%) of the vote here.  Republican incumbent Governor Greg Abbott  received 556,405 (46.47%) of Harris County votes.

Democrat incumbents in U.S. Congress races– Al Green, District 9; Sheila Jackson Lee, District 18; Sylvia R. Garcia, District 29; were re-elected with 75% to 89% of votes in Harris County.

In Texas State Representative races,   Democrat Gene Wu easily won re-election with 88.28% of the vote in Harris County.  Democrat Jon E. Rosenthal won with 50.76% of the vote in the State Representative  District 136 race.  Republican Sarah Davis was re-elected with 53.39% of the vote in the District 134 race.

In the Texas Attorney General race, Democrat Justin Nelson  won with 55.99% of the vote in Harris County.  Republican incumbent Dan Patrick received 42.32% of the vote.

After 11 years in office and leading Houston’s recovery from Hurricane Harvey, Harris County Judge Ed Emmett lost his bid for re-election. Judge Emmett received 572,816  (48.23%) of the vote.  Democratic challenger Lina Hidalgo won with 590,524 (49.72%) of the vote.

Democrat Garnet F. Coleman won the State Representative District 147 race with 43,865 (80.75%) of the vote. Republica Thomas Wang recived 10,454 or 19.25% of the vote.

Democrat Hubert Vo won the State Representative District 149 race with 26,865 (88.3%) of the vote. Libertarian Aaron Close received 3,560 (11.70%) of the vote.

In the Harris County District Clerk race, incumbent Republican Chris Daniel (44.97%) lost to Democrat Marilyn Burgess (55.03%) of the vote.

In the Harris County Clerk race, incumbent Republican Stan Stanart lost (42.92%) to Democrat Diane Trautman (54.54%) of the vote.

In the Harris County Treasurer race, incumbent Republican Orlando Sanchez (45.85%) to Democrat Dylan Osborne (54.15%) of the vote.

In the District Judge 185th Judicial District race, Democrat Jason Luong (55.52%) won over Republican Stacey W. Bond (44.48%).

On the 2 Harris County proposition questions, voters approved Proposition A(Drainage Fund) and Proposition B (Firefighters pay raise).

With 100% Harris County precincts, Proposition A (Drainage Fund) got

Yes — 75%  votes

No — 25% votes

On Proposition B (Firefighters Pay Raise),

Yes — 60% votes

No –40% votes

Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner warned voters that approval of Proposition B could result in layoffs of city employees, cuts in city services to pay for the firefighters pay raises.

—-Carol Lim


This entry was posted in Asian Community, Asian Community News, Elections and Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.